Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker and Lt. Governor Karyn Polito today joined Public Safety Secretary Daniel Bennett and State Fire Marshal Peter J. Ostroskey to honor firefighters from 11 Massachusetts fire departments for heroic acts of bravery at the 27th annual “Firefighter of the Year” Awards ceremony, held at Worcester’s Mechanics Hall. The event was emceed by WCVB’s Randy Price and Public Safety Undersecretary Patrick McMurray.

This year’s awardees are:

Norman Knight Award for Excellence in Community Service Boston – Lieutenant Daniel D. Gomes; Hyannis – Firefighter Barry Pina.

Excellence in Leadership Award: Boston  Deputy Chief Gregory J. Mackin;

Individual Awards for Meritorious Conduct: Boston – Firefighter William G. Care. Lynn – Firefighter Estarlo Abreu.

Group Awards for Meritorious Conduct: Boston  Ladder Company 28 – Captain Robert J. Counihan, Firefighter David R. Blaides, Firefighter Danny D. Ryan, and Firefighter Anthony J. Vargas. Fitchburg – Lieutenant Anthony Castelli, Firefighter Samuel Garcia, Lieutenant John Gilmartin, Firefighter John Girouard, Firefighter Matthew Glenny, Firefighter Peter Gradito, Deputy Chief David Gravel, Lieutenant Patrick Haverty, Firefighter Martin Kukkula, Firefighter Jude Lambert, Firefighter Kevin Lopez, Captain Anthony Marrama, Firefighter James Nault, Firefighter Timothy O’Kane, Lieutenant Patrick Roy and Firefighter Shane Thomas. Scituate – Firefighter Richard Dehn, Firefighter Thomas Hernan, Captain Brian McGowan, Lieutenant Eric Norlin and Firefighter Matthew Regan. Watertown – Deputy Chief Dan Tardif, Firefighter Darryl Baynes, Firefighter Jason Capello, Lieutenant Sean Connolly, Firefighter Sean Fitzgerald, Firefighter Shane Gleason, Firefighter Jonathan Mazzola and Firefighter Jeffrey Meon. Weymouth – Firefighter Gabriel Araujo, Firefighter Anthony Diauto and Firefighter Walter Langley

State Fire Marshal’s Award: Retired State Fire Marshal Stephen D. Coan.

Medals of Valor: Boston – Firefighter Christopher J. Flaherty. Fitchburg – Chief Kevin D. Roy. Lynn – Firefighter Joseph Fannon, Lieutenant William Fritz, Firefighter Brett Johnson and Lieutenant David Stanley. Malden – Firefighter Gregory Jean. Saugus – Captain Christopher Rizza. Swansea – Captain Michael J. Patterson, Lieutenant Brett M. Medeiros and Firefighter Patrick J. Burke. Weymouth – Firefighter Gary J. Walsh.

– Fire News photos by Liz Fietelberg