2020 EVT of the Year Award Winner Announced

The Fire Department Safety Officers Association (FDSOA), in conjunction with Firehouse and Spartan Motors, is pleased to announce that Jarrett Hill, fleet manager/emergency vehicle technician of the Rattlesnake Fire Protection District, in Parker, CO, has been awarded the 2020 EVT of the Year Award.

Hill joined the fire service in 2006 as a volunteer. He worked at both Rattlesnake FPD and South Metro Fire Rescue, becoming the first EVT in the state of Colorado to be level three certified in ambulance, fire apparatus, and ARFF. In 2016, Hill became the full-time fleet manager/EVT of Rattlesnake FPD and in the four years since, has expanded his work to serve 12 local departments as well.

Hill values learning, and to that end is the academy coordinator/educational director for the Colorado Fire Mechanics Association (COFMA). He arranges content and quality instructors for the organization’s quarterly meetings and annual training academy.

On top of his paid duties, Hill is an active volunteer in the district, responding to emergency calls in the evenings and on weekends. He currently serves as the operations captain and holds several fire certifications in addition to his lengthy EVT training resume.

The EVT of the Year Award was created in 2003 with the IAFC’s Apparatus Maintenance Section to recognize the hard work and dedication of the mechanics and emergency vehicle technicians, like Hill, who put in long hours and are committed to working on the fleet of the fire and emergency services.